Gun Permit Information 

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLY FOR A PERSONAL PROTECTION FIREARMS PERMIT THROUGH THE INDIANAPOLIS POLICE DEPARTMENT OR THE MARION COUNTY SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT

- APPLICATION PROCEDURE -

*  Please read these instructions and the application for handgun license completely and carefully.
*  Insure your application is typed or printed legibly, notarized, all questions have been answered and the application including the supplemental application is completed.
*If applicable, do not fail to admit your full arrest record. Failure to comply may lead to denial of a license.
*See back of instruction sheet for fee schedule
*Bring the completed documents, money order or certified check and the local application fee to the:

Indianapolis Police Department Citizens Service Desk
Room E100, 50 N. Alabama Street

Indianapolis, Indiana Hours of Operation are 8:00 A.M to 4:00 P.M Monday through Friday (excluding national holidays).

You will be notified by mail as to the approval or denial of your handgun license.

- SPECIAL NOTICE -

ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED TRUTHFULLY AND COMPLETELY. ANY FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE INDIANAPOLIS POLICE DEPARTMENT AND/OR THE INDIANA STATE POLICE ON THE APPLICATION MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL OF YOUR HANDGUN LICENSE.

HANDGUN LICENSING FEE SCHEDULE Effective July 1, 2006 License Type

Local Fee

Cash or Money Order

State Fee

Make Payable to:

State of Indiana

Money order or Certified Check ONLY

Four Year Hunting and Target
$10/$5 Refundable*
* If application is denied
$5
---------------------------------------------
Four Year Personal Protection
$10/$5 Refundable*
* If application is denied
$30
---------------------------------------------
Lifetime Hunting and Target/ No Current License $50/$30 Refundable*
* If application is denied
$25
 --------------------------------------------
Lifetime Hunting and Target/ Current Valid License $40/$30 Refundable*
* If application is denied
$20
---------------------------------------------
Lifetime Personal Protection/ No Current License $50/$30 Refundable*
* If application is denied
$75
---------------------------------------------
Lifetime Personal Protection/ Current Valid License $40/$30 Refundable*
* If application is denied
$60
---------------------------------------------
Retired Law Enforcement Officer
Not Provided in Law
Fee Exempt
---------------------------------------------
Retired Corrections Officer
Not Provided in Law
Fee Exempt
---------------------------------------------
Firearms Dealer
Not Provided in Law
Fee Exempt

*A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued.

Information provided by:
Marion County Sheriff Office 
 


   
 
 




© 2008

HOME PAGE